Some aMSN2 updates

Hello guys!

Ok, today I’m talking about a topic you probably don’t know (yet): aMSN2.

Let’s go straight to the point: aMSN2 is the next generation MSN clone. Multiplatform, multifrontend (yeah, I meant multifrontend) and written in Python.

I’ve been working on the core and on the Qt4 frontend. I wanted to show you a screencast, but somehow something went nuts on my PC and everything I can get is a crappy video full of redrawing bugs. But nevermind, I took some photos🙂

Hey, this is not WLM? What the fuck?

Hey, this is not WLM? What the fuck?

Oh, yeah, the Qt4 login window, powered by QSS super powers, copyright by Profox. Already working with all the goodness. But let me show you something more interesting…

Gee... they're friends!

Gee... they're friends!

aMSN2 is the widget on the left, with my test account logged in. I made some chatting with my real account logged into emesene (on the right) to demonstrate chatting works.

Ok, chatting GUI still sucks, but what matters the most is that aMSN2 can already chat, send/receive typing notifications, send/receive nudges & status updates, and receive custom emoticons (even if they’re not correctly handled yet). In short, it’s taking shape🙂

Please don’t forget this is still work in progress, unstable, it might kill random members of your family or pets. And, quoting Kakaroto, every time the “When will it be released?” question get asked, we delay release of a month. So keep quiet!

But, for developers’ sake, we have a git repository where we keep the code. It is here: http://github.com/drf/amsn2/tree/master .
If you’re interested in helping (we need EFL, GTK, Cocoa [Mac frontend], Qt, and general python developers), just fork the repository, work on some patches, and send a pull request. One of the reason we are using git in this stage it’s that it makes external contribution easier. Not to mention the #amsn channel on freenode, our base.

So stay excited, and see you on next aMSN post!

~ by Dario on 9 October, 2008.

23 Responses to “Some aMSN2 updates”

  1. Cheers !

  2. yay!

  3. Hey,
    Being a enthusiastic user of aMSN (I really hate Windows Live Messenger), I wish you and the rest of the development team the best of luck.
    It is great to see that aMSN2 is already progressed this far, I would ask when it would be released, if that question wouldn’t postpone the release date with a month😉 .
    I do have one question though:
    What improvements will aMSN2 have compared to the current aMSN? (I do know that aMSN2 is written in Python and that it will have multiple front-ends, and I also know these are improvements😉 ).
    I am a developer myself so when I have some spare time and I’m not too busy with some other programming project, I’ll have a look at Python (never used it before) and see if I can be of some help (for the aMSN core, or maybe some add-ons).
    Cya,
    Mark

  4. @Anonymous & Ruphy: yayyy!

    @Mark: Well, we have a better library (pymsn) under our backs, so you can definitely expect more reliability & stability (given the fact that pymsn has its own development team == more manpower), a better codebase, a better language. This means more possibilities, and every possible advantage😉
    Python is really easy, so I’m waiting for you to get going, fork our git repo and send some pull requests🙂

  5. MNice bro, hope you will finish it soon.

  6. Nice!
    But I have a question: is development for amsn (1) stopped and you’re only working on amsn2 or you’re working on both (maybe 50/50)?

  7. I’m Kopete user, and I’m not planning get aMSN2 ’cause I’m Gtalk user too, but it looks really amazing!!!

  8. AlDeR: I asked the developers, and amsn1 is still being worked on by one developer, and 2 developers are taking care of amsn2🙂

  9. Thi is simply awesome! Cant wait to make the switch form amsn to amsn2🙂

  10. can you show what im listen to on this one

  11. WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW I LIKE IT !!! I WANNA TRY IT I WANNA DOWLOAD IT !!!! WHERE CAN I FIND IT

  12. I want it so bad! Qt and Efl looks great while gtk Looks simple. love it🙂

  13. […] Lo sviluppo di aMSN 2 è ancora all’inizio. Il programma è in stato embrionale, cioè assolutamente instabile, privo di molte funzioni. Ma i piú curiosi potranno iniziare a fregarsi le mani ammirando la schermata a fianco, tratta dalla versione per l’ambiente Enlightenment e gentilmente offertaci dal blog «A Quiet Place». […]

  14. […] Lo sviluppo di aMSN 2 è ancora all’inizio. Il programma è in stato embrionale, cioè assolutamente instabile, privo di molte funzioni. Ma i piú curiosi potranno iniziare a fregarsi le mani ammirando la schermata a fianco, tratta dalla versione per l’ambiente Enlightenment e gentilmente offertaci dal blog «A Quiet Place». […]

  15. Good to see it’s still being worked on… Please don’t let this project (and its two/three predecessors with it) die…🙂

  16. Hmmm, now I am not sure on what MSN client recommend, KMess2 or aMSN2. Good work!

  17. […] aMSN 2, no? Ieri, cercando notizie ed aggiornamenti proprio riguardo amsn2, sono incappato in una piacevole notizia. Così mi decido anche io a provarlo visto che, anche se ancora in fase instabile, è possibile […]

  18. why do you hate emesene =(?

  19. Why are the developers being such a**holes with this ‘ask and delay’ policy… Methinks someone has let the power go to their head.

  20. I wonder if the webcam will be embedded in the window of conversation?

  21. Hey mate ahah I know more than stupid question, and I am not here for that.. but could you send us a link for the image you used for this blog.. it’s really awesome..

    Ahah sorry, and I use it to thank you for your program😉

  22. This IS a really quiet place.

    BTW, I tried many times to subscribe to the amsn forums with no success. I never get the confirmation email. It seems to me that all AMSN forums have bee deactivated.

    Regards

  23. Took a quick peek at amsn2 from github, and it does look promissing🙂 It appears to work just fine with qt4, did no in depth tests though.

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

 
