Oslo, day one

So I finally arrived in Oslo for the NM applet meeting. Today I’m alone, since the meeting starts tomorrow, but I came here one day before to cut the travel costs (yes, hard to believe, but it’s true) and I decided to write a small something everyday, since it’s a whole new experience for me.

I left from Bergamo at 10.45. 2 hours and a half later and 20°C less after, I finally arrived in Torp, greeted by the awesome view of the Danish and Norwegian coasts, one of the most amazing things I’ve ever seen. It still took an hour and a half to get to Oslo, and some more time to reach Anker, where I’m staying just for this night (I’ll join the rest of the KDE people in Munch tomorrow). The room is really nice, especially for the price paid.

Oslo is kinda expensive, but I fit myself finding some pizza slices at 20kr (2 for 30). Not the best deal ever, but quite cheap for the standards indeed, I hope tonight I’ll be eating somewhere decent.

The city is nice. Well, it rained almost all the time, but I took the time to walk on the Opera theatre, have a quick look at the fortress, and walk through the main streets of the city.

A fun fact is that I needed an adaptor for my PC. Without knowing which kind of ac plugs they had in Norway, I brought an english one from home, and came here to find out that they have german-like ones. So I went to a shop (on advice of the people at the hostel) to buy another adaptor, and they told me they the only ones they had were for english plugs. As you can imagine, my setup now consist of my laptop plugged into my adaptor, which is plugged into the adaptor I just bought. Lucky chance indeed.

Tonight I’ll look around for some pubs & clubs, hoping to have a great night in Oslo. And if you’re hanging around there, be sure to catch us in the next days to join the fun!

~ by Dario on 4 June, 2009.

4 Responses to “Oslo, day one”

  1. Welcome to Oslo, Dario

    Pay attention at how soon (or late!) it gets dark… Then tell me tomorrow in the office when it got really dark.

    Have fun!

    PS: 2 slices of pizza for 30kr is a good deal

  2. Welcome to Norway! I think you will find Norway expensive in general… Hope you will enjoy your stay though🙂

  3. Welcome to the Free Software travelling crowd😉

    I’ll catch up with you guys on IRC

  4. Welcome to Oslo!🙂

Leave a Reply

 
