Some updates (and infos for packagers)

Hello everyone!

Sorry for not posting that much in the last period, but surely I’m not dead and always working. So, since time is always against us, I will post a catchup of things that matter/could matter to you.

– I moved Policykit-KDE to extragear/base. It will be in trunk from 4.3 on, though all distributions that want/need to package it can find it there. I can also set up a set of releases (just like I did with PowerDevil for KDE 4.1) if there is enough demand, so please let me know.

– Chakra got released. It is such a satisfaction, after months of work, to get such a great feedback. Thanks to everyone for their support.

– I moved my first steps with the Wicd solid engine. Now it does something – not that much, and not connecting – though it is definitely starting to work. A big thanks to Wicd developers for being very responsive and helpful, you guys rock. The code is here: http://github.com/drf/wicd-solid/tree/master

– If you can make some noise for Alessandro and recompile DeviceSync from playground you’ll see a brand new delegate for connected devices. Not only: I have added support for custom actions for plugins. You can already change name to your Mtp device and format it. KIO slave coming soon.

– [Developers only]I need some help with a bug with new Plasma notifications. Basically, when calling KNotification::event(), some parameters are just lost, making notifications non persistant, actions ignored and more. This affects PowerDevil wait before suspend functionality, making it simply non work. Any ideas?

– I have discovered KMess, and it seems exactly what I was looking for. I’ll surely help them out.

Well, I hope I have not forgotten anything. Ah yes: I hope you are having some great holidays, just like me, and be excited, because KDE 4.2 is going to rock your socks off

~ by Dario on 28 December, 2008.

12 Responses to “Some updates (and infos for packagers)”

  1. Hey boy, you rock!

    If you want us packagers to pick up Policykit-KDE please create releases. It is just way more convenient, if one can simply use a provided tarball.

  2. A Wicd? Really?! Man, that’s the best thing I’ve heard in my life. From now, I’m your biggest fan! 😉

  3. Thanks for your effort in providing a wicd-engine. It’s really appreciated 🙂

  4. A Wicd engine truly sounds great. I have ditched NM, due to its inability to work, and wicd has worked straight from the get go. getting KDE applications to work with it will be a great addition.

  5. +1 to what Trigger said, and please make sure your tarball releases include translations.

    If you need a script to make tarballs with translations, you can try this one:
    http://repo.calcforge.org/f9/kde4-tarballs/
    (That’s a version of the extragear-tarballs script from KDE SVN which I modified.)

  6. where is the wicd solid backend in playground? I have searched base, libs and network and there is no sign of it.

  7. I agree with you on Kmess, I’m using it since 1 year and I love it, the new 2.0 version will be great.

    Thanks for all your effort on so many different sides of KDE!

  8. For a second I wanted to ask you why choose aMSN 2 and not KMess 2; but I thought you had your own good reasons! Now I know it was just because you didn’t know about it! 🙂

  9. *why you chose

  10. @Kevin: Thanks for the info, I will release a first tarball in 2009.

    @bcooksley: You’re right, I’m keeping it on github here: http://github.com/drf/wicd-solid/tree/master I edited the post, thanks

    @Diego: Yeah, seems so 😀 anyway, it’s never too late, isn’t it? 🙂

    Thanks everyone!

  11. Hi! I’ve just installed kdemod 4.86, I know this is not the place for bugs reports, but…
    Here’s the error:

    errore: impossibile preparare l’operazione
    /usr/share/apps/cmake/modules/CTestTestfile.cmake è già presente in ‘kdemod-kdebase-runtime’ e in ‘kdemod-kdebase-workspace’
    /usr/share/apps/cmake/modules/cmake_install.cmake è già presente in ‘kdemod-kdebase-runtime’ e in ‘kdemod-kdebase-workspace’
    /usr/share/apps/kdevappwizard/templates/qmake_qt4guiapp.tar.bz2 è già presente in ‘kdemod-kdesdk-kapptemplate’ e in ‘kdemod-kdevelop’

    the output is from a ‘pacman -S kdemod-complete’ (preceeded by a ‘pacman -Rd kdemod-uninstall’). Nothing critical, forcing the install worked well.

  12. 1. This is definitely not the place. We have forums, a bug tracker, so I really see no need to flood my blog with this.

    2. This problem is present since the very first build of the unstable repo. It is unstable for a reason

Leave a comment